Baking · Recipe Box · Uncategorized

Amazing Pumpkin Bars!

…and when I say that these are AMAZING, I mean it! I have made them twice in the past week and they were devoured each time within a few hours! I may forgo making pumpkin pies this Thanksgiving and make these instead! The icing is so rich and creamy and with a little *extra spice,* it is PERFECTION!

Pumpkin Bars

PUMPKIN BARS
(Taste of Home)

4 large eggs
1 2/3 cup sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
1 (15oz) can pumpkin
2 cups flour
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt

For Icing:

6 oz cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 cups confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp whole milk

In a bowl beat the eggs, sugar, oil and pumpkin until well blended. Combine the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt; gradually add to pumpkin mixture and mix well. Pour into an uncreased 15x10x1-inch baking pan.* Bake at 350 degrees F for 25-30 minutes, or until set. Cool completely.

For the icing, beat the cream cheese and butter until well blended. Add vanilla and 1 Tbsp milk. Combine. Add 2 cups confectioner’s sugar and beat until smooth and creamy.

NOTES:

*A 15x10x1 pan is a classic jellyroll pan. I knew them as “cookie sheets” growing up (because that’s what everyone called them), but have since learned the difference. 😉

While the recipe calls for pouring the batter into an ungreased pan, I lined mine with parchment paper. Doing so made it incredibly easy to lift the whole cake out without it breaking (and it also made clean-up a breeze!).

For the icing, make sure to scrape down the bowl a few times throughout the mixing process. Once my frosting ingredients are pretty well blended, I leave it to blend on medium-high speed for about 3 minutes to be extra creamy~ After icing the bars, I also like to sprinkle a little bit of nutmeg over the top….PERFECTION!!!

Store any extras in the refrigerator in an air-tight container for up to 3 days.

If you want a slightly healthier version, substitute half of the oil for applesauce. While I personally haven’t tried this yet, I have heard that it turns out just as well.

 

If you try these Pumpkin Bars, I would love to know what you think! Leave a comment below!

Enjoy the rest of your Monday and to all of our veterans, I would just like to say “THANK YOU!” for your service! This country is amazing because of the men & women like you who step up to protect all of us~ God bless you on this Veteran’s Day~

FLAG

~Sarah

Leave a comment