Recipe Box · Sides · Summertime Favorites

Homemade Mango Chutney

I found a new, easy recipe that I wanted to try, but it called for something that I had never tried or had even heard of before: MANGO CHUTNEY.

I looked high and low, up and down every aisle, in search of this mysterious ingredient to no avail. I ended up buying mango salsa, hoping that it would be close enough to use in lieu of the chutney. When I got home the store, though, I realized that there was no way to substitute one for the other! I looked up mango chutney and realized that salsa was in no way going to add the recommended flavor to the recipe! So, back to the store I went in search of fresh mango, apples, red pepper, some ginger root, and a few other things that I needed!

Fast forward to changing the original recipe that I had found online with something that I thought my family would prefer and voila! I had homemade mango chutney, for the first time ever, and it was SO sweet and scrumptious!

 

mango chutney on spoon

 

What does Mango Chutney taste like?
Well, it’s really sweet. It’s almost like a really thick, chunky jam with spices that are reminiscent of Thanksgiving and Christmas time.

What does Mango Chutney go with?
It can go with grilled or BBQ chicken or pork, in curries, or  with lamb or wild game. You could add vinegar, lime juice, and soy sauce to make a vinaigrette out of it, or to use as a marinade for your meat.

What do you serve Mango Chutney with?
This may sound a bit strange, but a Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich with this Mango Chutney on top…. delish! It adds a sweetness to the sandwich that is just so YUMMY! You can also serve it on crackers with a mild cheese, as a sandwich spread with your grilled cheese sandwich, as a ham glaze, or even warmed over some vanilla ice cream. Your imagination is your only limitation!

 

mango chutney jarred good

 

MANGO CHUTNEY
(M2S)
Yield: about 2 cups

1.5 medium apples, peeled, cored, and diced
1 large mango, peeled and diced
1/4 medium sweet red pepper, diced
3/4 cup sugar
1 /2 cup finely minced onion
1/4 cup raisins, chopped
1/4 cup white vinegar
2 Tbsp peeled ginger root, whole*
1 1/2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp curry powder
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp salt

Combine apples, mango, red pepper, sugar, onion, raisins, vinegar, and ginger root in a large saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, reduce heat to low, and simmer, uncovered, until fruit is tender and mixture is thickened, about 20-25 minutes, depending on the size of your dice. Stir occasionally. Add lemon juice, curry powder, nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, and salt. Continue to cook for an additional 3-5 minutes.

You can jar and preserve the chutney using a water bath (process pint jars for 15 minutes, half-pint for 10); Allow it to cool to room temperature and freeze in freezer-safe containers; Or you can store in the refrigerator in a clean jar/container.

 

*Note:
I have a strong aversion to ginger flavor (every since baby #5), so I added the ginger root whole, and then removed it before jarring. I stuck a toothpick in it so it would be easy to find and pull out at the end. If you love ginger and a good kick in the taste buds, though, you can mince the ginger and add it in that way!

 

One thought on “Homemade Mango Chutney

Leave a comment